CDL training in Alaska varies with the type of license you’re applying for and the endorsements attached to that license.
There are a few situations that do not require a commercial driver’s license. These include drivers of recreational, military and emergency vehicles.
Farm vehicles are also considered exempt if they are controlled and operated by a farmer, and used to transport agricultural products or machinery to and from a farm. Farm vehicles can only be exempted if they are not used in for-hire or contract carrier operations, and if they are driven no further than 150 miles from the farm.
Requirements for CDL Training in Alaska:
- Social Security card
- Birth documents and additional identity documents if you have never been licensed in Alaska
- $100 commercial driver’s license fee
- $25 non-refundable fee if a road test is required
- A passing score of 80% or higher on the knowledge test(s)
- Satisfactorily passing the applicable Skills test(s)
- Successfully passing the vision test
- 21 years of age to operate in interstate commerce
- 19 years of age to operate in intrastate commerce
- Valid driver’s license for at least one year
- Medical Certificate, to be carried on your person at all times while operating a commercial vehicle
- Background check if you are renewing a license with a hazardous materials (hazmat) endorsement, adding a haz-mat endorsement to a current CDL or obtaining an original Alaska CDL license with a haz-mat endorsement. For more information on background checks, visit http://hazprints.com.
Additional requirements for CDL training in Alaska include “implied consent”, which allows law enforcement offices to request a breath sample at any time you are operating a commercial vehicle.
If you refuse, your CDL will be disqualified for one year if it is your first offense, or three years if you are transporting hazardous materials. Any future offenses will disqualify your commercial driver’s license for a minimum of ten years.
Appointments to take a road test can be scheduled online by going to http://alaska.gov/dmv, or in person at any DMV office.
Additional information about CDL training in Alaska can be obtained by visiting the Alaska Department of Administration, Division of Motor Vehicles, at http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/dmvhome.htm.