- Commercial drivers in Nevada are required to meet the same Residency and Proof of Identity requirements as non-commercial drivers.
- Applicants for a Nevada CDL must also submit to a physical exam and pass written knowledge tests as well as additional skills tests.
- You must be 21 years old to obtain a CDL for interstate commerce or to receive endorsements to transport passengers or hazardous materials.
- You must be 25 years of age in order to obtain an endorsement for vehicle combinations over 70 feet in length.
- Applicants from the ages of 18 to 20 can be issued a commercial drivers license in Nevada, but it will contain Restriction R, which means they cannot transport passengers or hazardous materials, and Restriction 2, which limits them to intrastate commerce only.
- You must submit to a US DOT approved physical exam, and provide a completed medical examiner’s certificate to the CDL office.
- Your driving history will be checked in each state in which you have held a drivers license in the past 10 years. You will be asked to list all states where you have held a drivers license, either commercial or noncommercial.
- You can transfer your out-of-state CDL at one of the DMV Full Service Offices if you have a current DOT physical card and meet the other conditions required by the state of Nevada.
- No appointment is needed for applications or written tests.
- Drive tests must be scheduled by appointment and are administered only at CDL offices.
Commercial Drivers License Offices
555 Wright Way, Carson City
810 E. Greg St, Sparks, NV 89431
4110 Donovan Way, N Las Vegas, NV 89030
3505 Construction Way, Winnemucca, NV 89445
3920 E. Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801